Music Recommendation – Single – Nate Ruess, “Nothing Without Love”

Fun. Visits New.Music.Live. in Toronto on April 24, 2012I have to say, I probably would not be writing about this song if it weren’t for the impression I was given when listening to Fun.’s Some Nights album. Nate Ruess’ voice has seriously grown on me, and I was hoping for big things from his debut. While it was impressive, this song did not attract the notice from the audience that I expected.

The song has a rhythm to it that feels easy and a feeling of loving passion. “Nothing Without Love” sounds cheesy (and believe me, the “na na na, oh” bits are), but the attitude and emotion of the song really gives the lyricism some power. Of course, the music video also helps with that (you can’t tell me I’m the only one who laughed when he was singing and swallowed a little bit of water). His pure voice is absolutely fantastic, and the pacing of this song leads into a big performance by Ruess.

Overall, I would rate the song at:

9.5/10

This song had to grow on me a little, but now it is one of my favorites. Really loving the energy, the tone and its sound. It is unique, and stands out amongst both Indie and Pop music. I seriously recommend hearing it, and keeping an eye on Nate’s follow up singles. You can listen to the song below:

Austin Heath: Head Writer & Site Administrator of Austin’s Music Picks

2 thoughts on “Music Recommendation – Single – Nate Ruess, “Nothing Without Love”

Leave a Reply

