Guilty Pleasure – Fun., “Some Nights”

fun.Meet AMP’s newest humor-filled feature, “Guilty Pleasure”. I will add a description of the “Guilty Pleasure” category in the “Features” page eventually, but for now I will give you a brief summary of what I do here. Basically, I take a song that I should not enjoy as much as I do and share how I would never tell my male acquaintances about my lust for this song. Then I tell you guys, my not-acquaintances, about it.

So I thought a fitting first installment would be everyone’s favorite Indie/Pop group whose name they actually recognize from that one party in 2012. By this, I mean Fun. and their hits “We Are Young” and “Some Nights”, or as I like to call the latter, “The fun Fun. song.”

But what is so fun about Fun.’s funny “Some Nights” song? Well, the song has a deep drum beat that subtly invades your body into a rhythm of head-bobbing and toe-tapping. The lyrics are easy to pick up and fascinating to contemplate. Also, the vocals are passionate about whatever the hell they are talking about in the song.

Of course, the song has loads of little flaws. It is dragged out a bit too much, that autotune is disgustingly misused, and it uses the ever-so-signature Pop melody of “Oh oh, whoa oh whoa oh” and so on. I feel embarrassed to say I find Fun.’s music enjoyable to listen to because I know that the moment I accept it as truth, people will mistake my tolerance for being an actual fan of the group.

Overall, I would honestly rate this song at:

7.5/10

Now that I have revealed my secret, you might as well listen to it and see if the same effect rubs off on you:

Austin Heath: Head Writer & Site Administrator of Austin’s Music Picks

4 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure – Fun., “Some Nights”

Leave a Reply

