Music Recommendation – Single – Big Sean ft. Drake and Kanye West, “Blessings”

BlessingsMost reactions to this song so far have been much unlike my own. Listeners have said this song has a great beat and weak verses. Meanwhile, I was impressed by each artist, mostly because of how surprised I am with Big Sean’s development up to this track. Most people call him things like “wack” and “not dope” (I’m not very up-to-date with the lingo of the young people), but I believe he has the ability to do what he does in “Blessings” on the rest of his album.

“IDFWU” has been a big hit, but Big Sean is still treated like three-day-old potato salad leftovers. He is dumped on like crazy, and while I may not be the biggest fan of his music and do agree his lyrics feel very empty, I have heard way worse. I was going into this song expecting it to be a “Hear It First” and I would briefly cover it, but all three rappers do a solid job of carrying a low-key and difficult beat to work with and make the best of what they are given.

Big Sean starts out slow but picks up quick and goes on about a typically-empty subject with easy rhymes. Both of his verses have good flow, but just don’t seem to be conveying anything. Drake, meanwhile, connects the song well with his chorus (though it is disappointing for Drake’s vocal skills) and his own more consistent middle verse. Kanye’s outro had my favorite verse on the song (that’s a first) and I just love the idea of a pre-school run by Kanye West. I would absolutely send my child there, no regrets.

It was hard for me to pick up any meaning from “Blessings”, but all three rappers make a good Hip-Hop radio hit and a song that will most likely achieve Billboard Hot 100 status. Before judging, I would hear it out; That was the only reason this made it to “recommendation” status. Overall, I would rate the song at:

7.5/10

This song is nothing new, but I like it and see the appeal. You can hear the new single first below:

Austin Heath: Head Writer & Site Administrator of Austin’s Music Picks

Leave a Reply

