Music Recommendation – Single – Ellie Goulding, “Love Me Like You Do”

ellie-goulding2You know when you first hear a song, and you realize right away that it will be your favorite song? Well Love Me Like You Do was not that; At least, not at first. It took the impressive pacing and the second semi-explosive chorus to realize this was it; This would be my favorite song for a while. Love Me Like You Do increases at a perfect rate and will forever be my best example of good pacing and a template to which I will base other songs applying the same effect.

Midway into the song, at around 1:43, the song begins to climax. I know this song is part of the soundtrack of 50 Shades Of Grey, so I will give you a moment to chuckle at my wording back there.

Are you done yet? Moving on, the song uses that word-repeaty-thing to fill some time on the hook, which normally tends to drive me up the wall. However, this song pulls it off alright enough because the chorus has enough going on behind the lyrics to distract from this somewhat cheap characteristic.

While this was the Ellie Goulding sound I expected, it also had a brand of uniqueness and design that I was not expecting at all. The song is original but not outside of the typical Goulding fan’s comfort zone. The song gets a bit yell-y and chant-y at the end, but otherwise is easy to pick up and share.

This song has a huge appeal to the point I cannot imagine someone who I would feel uncomfortable sharing this as my favorite song with. Overall, I would rate this new release (yeah, I managed to make this a sort-of “hear it first” article) at:

9.75/10

Now that’s some Pop music I have not heard in a long time…a long time…

Basically, the song is good. I am not one to fall in love with Pop music, but then again I was never one to write about music. Looks like I screwed the pooch on that one. Insert Blink-182 reference here. I am very impressed with production, but want to call out the change in Ellie Goulding’s voice, most notably how it has toned down the synth effect that most listeners have grown accustomed to. This venture is greatly beneficial and again, I have to give a nod to the producers having some extra faith in Ellie Goulding.

So go ahead and hear this song first below, as I strongly recommend it:

Austin Heath: Head Writer & Site Administrator of Austin’s Music Picks

5 thoughts on “Music Recommendation – Single – Ellie Goulding, “Love Me Like You Do”

Leave a Reply

