Throwback Thursday – Eminem ft. Dr. Dre, “Guilty Conscience”

dre-eminemLast night I had Eminem and Dr. Dre on my shoulder duking it out as I contemplated writing my Throwback Thursday article or going to sleep. While Shady may have won that battle, the turmoil in my head led to me writing about this song. Each of the three stanzas is specific to a situation and Dr. Dre plays the good guy while Eminem acts like…well, Slim Shady.

This song was part of The Slim Shady LP and is at the height of Slim Shady fever. The track is humorous while also featuring classic bars. This release also came the same year Dre released 2001 and was at his prime. This music is some of the best from both artists.

Overall, if I would rate the song, I would give it a:

9.75/10

The song is funny and some of Eminem’s best, though Dre’s rhymes were written by Eminem and lack originality in that they sound like those Eminem would write. Regardless, the song is still an awesome piece of underrated Hip-Hop from years ago that makes you think while having an aura of easy listening to it.

You can check out the song and its music video below:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

