Favorites Friday – Eminem, Superman

eminem“I know you want this article, I think I want it too. I think I’m posting baby, I think it’s Saturday. I’m here to write this post, come view it on your browser now. It may not be Friday, let’s just move on from that.”

I think that’s how the song goes. I cannot remember if I actually put Superman in my Top 50 this year, but I know it ranks among my favorites. This was one of the first songs I learned how to rap in full, so it has a special place in my heart. The hook was a bit simple, so that was easy to pick up.

Fun Fact: I consider 2002’s The Eminem Show the bets Eminem album, despite contrary belief that MMLP is better (It is a close second though). I love a whole bunch of Eminem songs, but Superman is the easiest to listen to over and over again. The rhymes are addictive and its sound is iconic in Hip-Hop.

That being said, this song has its downers. The female presence in the beginning of the song always annoyed me. Again, the hook is super repetitive and a bit boring. The verses are so incredible and lyrically superb that the beat was simple and subtle.

Overall, I would rate this favorite of mine at:

9.5/10

While this is one of my favorite Eminem songs, I would never say it is the best. Songs like StanThe Real Slim Shady, and others trump it in lyrical value. However, the catchy tune of Superman has yet to be matched by any other Eminem song.

You can listen to it below:

-Austin Heath

EDIT: I said MMLP2 as the second best Eminem album. I meant to put down MMLP, thank you to Suzon for pointing that out. The error has been fixed.

2 thoughts on “Favorites Friday – Eminem, Superman

Leave a Reply

