57th Grammy Awards Predictions And Thoughts

grammyI will be going through every Grammy category and post my predictions for the winners. This will be a bit long, so I am adding a “Read More” tag below this paragraph. Keep in mind, just because I post the predictions, does not mean I agree with them. So without further ado, let’s get started:

Album of the Year: Beyonce, Beyonce

Notes: Any one of the other nominations may deserve it more, especially Ed Sheeran, but Beyonce will come out on top between the creativity of the album’s release and popular hits on it including Partition and Drunk In Love.

Best New Artist: Iggy Azalea

Notes: This is painful to write, but I have to recognize the amount of success that Iggy Azalea has achieved in 2014. Hopefully Bastille finds a way to come up on top, but I could see Sam Smith surprising everyone. Brandy Clark is a major underdog who could shock as well, this is a tough category.

Record of the Year: Taylor Swift, Shake It Off

Notes: Shake It Off definitely caught on the quickest, and while All About That Bass and Stay With Me have a decent shot, Taylor Swift has the established fanbase and success to bring her the award for Record of the Year. Fancy could come out on top, but I doubt it will be preferred to Swift’s hit. My personal vote would be Stay With Me.

Song of the Year: Taylor Swift, Shake It Off

Notes: I am just saying the same as before because I honestly do not know the difference between record of the year and song of the year.

Best Rap Album: Eminem, The Marshall Mathers LP2

Notes: Just because I say Eminem will win does not mean I believe it is the best. Eminem has shown how lyrically genius he is before, and proves he still has that ability with his song Headlights (which I will post under here) and at points Rap God, but this album did not compare to his previous works. I was disappointed despite the hype, though a few of the singles were enjoyable. I believe Childish Gambino’s Because The Internet should win, though this a solid group of picks for this year’s Best Rap Album, despite an awful year in Rap that was 2014.

Best pop Duo/Group Performance: Jessie J ft. Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj, Bang Bang

Notes: Because out of the list, this is the one I like the most. I am conflicted because I feel like Fancy will either be snubbed by every category or will come out as the best in every category, despite my feeling that it deserves no such award.

Best Rap Performance: Eminem, Rap God

Notes: Because the other nominations are jokes compared to the success of this song. is the only song that comes close, and even that was a bit disappointing.

Best Alternative Album: Alt-J, This Is All Yours

Notes: Can I just say how much I love Alt-J’s name? Also, from what I have heard from the album, it seems to be the consistently most well-rounded album it the Alternative class. I could see Arcade Fire or Jack White coming out of nowhere, but this is just the album I thought was the best of the nomination list.

Best Rock Album: U2, Songs of Innocence

Notes: Let’s just move on from this cold hard truth that U2’s success (despite forcing it down listeners’ throats) will come out on top.

Best Rock Song: Paramore, Ain’t It Fun

Notes: It sure is fun winning a Grammy, Paramore. Because this is the only real chart-breaking “Rock” hit, it will win. Grammy Awards love chart-makers. I also enjoy this song myself, being honest, though that may be because it leans more towards “Pop.” I guess I will be happy with anyone who wins this category.

Best Country Album: Miranda Lambert, Platinum

Notes: I am still diving into the Country scene to the best of my abilities, but I can say that I have heard some decent feedback about Miranda Lambert’s Platinum album. Brandy Clark could win just because of her excelling debut, or Eric Church because of already established success. Regardless, my opinion on this category is hardly relevant.

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration: Eminem ft. Rihanna, The Monster

Notes: I was never a big fan of this song, but how can it not win? I will say that, while I did not care much for Bound 2, I do love Charlie Wilson. I don’t think I would be disappointed by any of the nominations winning.

Best Rap Song: Nicki Minaj, Anaconda

Notes: Can we just move on please.

Best Country Duo/Group Performance: Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood, Somethin’ Bad

Notes: Just a guess, plus Carrie Underwood is really pretty.

Best Country Song: Eric Church, Give Me Back My Hometown

Notes: Yay, more guessing.

Best Country Solo Performance: Hunter Hayes, Invisible

Notes: I know a couple of songs on the list, and Invisible is my favorite, so let’s hope Hunter Hayes wins with it.

Best Pop Vocal Album: Ed Sheeran, X

Notes: Ed Sheeran was streamed a lot on Spotify this year, in fact making him the most streamed artist (covered on InfectiousMagazine.com by yours truly here). I think this will bring him the award, though Katy Perry could also win it easily.

Best Urban Contemporary Album: Chris Brown, X

Notes: I would hope that either Chris Brown or Jhene Aiko win this award, but Beyonce and Pharrel will prove serious competition. Chris Brown is a bit of an underdog, but definitely had the quality to win this award.

Best Dance/Electronic Album: Dead Mau5, While (1

Notes: Because it is Dead Mau5, nobody in the Grammy Awards really cares about EDM.

Best Dance Recording: Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne, Rather Be

Notes: Because it is Clean Bandit. This song was the most popular dance track that was released this year, though Never Say Never has a shot at winning.

Best Latin Album: Marco Antonio Solis, Gracias Por Estar Aqui

Notes: Mainly because he is the most popular in a group of noms featuring new talent.

Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media: Guardians Of The Galaxy

Notes: This better not get subbed because Frozen had two really popular songs.

Best Music Video: Pharrell Williams, Happy

Notes: Because the most people have actually seen it and it makes viewers a certain emotion pertaining to the title of this song.

Best Music Film: Coldplay, Ghost Stories

Notes: This was such a hard topic, I had to just guess based on knowledge of each. Beyonce and Jay-Z could easily come up on top but I do not want to be quick to assume when having lack of knowledge.

Best Pop Solo Performance: Sam Smith, Stay With Me

Notes: I like the choices in this category. I would be disappointed if Happy or Shake It Off took this one too. I want Sam Smith to come out with something.

Best Reggae Album: Sean Paul, Full Frequency

Notes: Because it is Sean Paul. He was in all those cool songs you liked in middle school.

Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album: Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett, Cheek to Cheek

Notes: Because it has Lady Gaga, though Barbara Streisand could win because, again, it is Barbara Streisand. If you recognize the name, they will probably win.

Best Americana Album: Sturgill Simpson, Metamodern Sounds in Country Music

Notes: I saw he had multiple nominations, so I’m guessing this guy. I know nothing of Americana though.

Best Spoken Word Album: Joan Rivers, Diary of a Mad Diva

Notes: She dead.

Best Gospel Album: Erica Campbell, Help

Notes: Google to the rescue! This is honestly a complete and utter guess.

Best Metal Performance: Slipknot, The Negative One

Notes: I just like Slipknot better than these other nominations. A lot of good groups skipped though.

Best Rock Performance: Arctic Monkeys, Do I Wanna Know?

Notes: I thought we were past the Rock categories, but whatever. How can you pass up on Arctic Monkeys?

Best RnB Performance: Beyonce ft. Jay-Z, Drunk In Love

Notes: Please dear God let New Flame come around and win. I believe I might be fine with Jennifer Hudson and R Kelly winning as well.

Best RnB Song: Jhene Aiko, The Worst

Notes: This is a bold choice, but her similarities to Rihanna’s voice on this song makes it seem like she could win. This song was great and worth a Grammy.

Best RnB Album: Aloe Blacc, Lift Your Spirit

Notes: Disappointing nominations, but I will go with Aloe Blacc. I feel he is the most deserving of a Grammy this year.

Then there are a bunch of categories I do not know enough about to write (including Classical music). My biggest shock is how snubbed MAGIC! and Ariana Grande were, but oh well. What do you think, were my picks noteworthy or trash? Any big underdogs? Stay tuned for the 57th Grammy Awards. Also, shoutout to Billboard for lots of extensive coverage on nominations and opinions so early.

-Austin Heath

2 thoughts on “57th Grammy Awards Predictions And Thoughts

    • Logical conclusion, especially when The Grammys seem to be rather biased against Hip-Hop nowadays. As for your own, I loved reading it and especially appreciated your “Will Win” and “Should Win” contradictions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

