Favorites Friday – David Guetta ft. Usher, Without You

without-youTechnically, it is still Friday in some places. I tend to have this problem of late, but let’s just keep on going anyways. You may have noticed before that Without You was in my Top 50 this year…and last year…and every year since its release. The song has a very special place in my heart.

To be honest, the song has been worn out way too much. It’s like those slippers that you love but have holes in the toes and use your bare feet as bottoms. Yet you still love them to death. The biggest reason that this song stands out to me is its special place in my three-year long relationship. It was considered our first song and I told her that before we even were considered boyfriend and girlfriend.

Before you have a cutegasm, I can assure you that we have had our ups and downs. However, in the end we found our way back together and I am proud to say I love her. The song itself always represented my feelings for her when we first met, and still does years later.

The track itself comes off my first real album purchase, David Guetta’s Nothing But The Beat. I could review that as a whole, but I will probably just list some of my favorites from that album in one of these posts every once in a while, as most of the songs never truly appealed to me. Without You was always my favorite and also has sentimental value.

Overall, I would honestly rate the song at 8.25/10. It was popular for a reason, but the repetitive nature and simplicity of the beat was a bit disappointing to many listeners. Of course this was my first album, I had to love the hit song. So go ahead and check it out below, or hear it again for my relationship’s sake:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

