Throwback Thursday – The Beatles, Yesterday

the-beatlesI could list my top favorite Beatles songs like I did last week, but I might as well share my undisputed #1 favorite. Yesterday is a popular pick, but regardless it happens to be my favorite song by The Beatles. The song was one of the most influential in my musical passion.

Yesterday was the first Beatles song that I ventured on my own to find, after growing up hearing hits such as Michele (my mother’s name) and Hey Jude (my brother’s name), among others whose names I cannot recall because that do not directly relate to my family. I am not completely sure how I found this favorite, but it made a lasting impression on me and was my favorite song through a tough love crisis.

The song is a slow ballad and really a highly recommended listen. It is rather rare for a person to not have heard this song, being another one of The Beatles #1 hits. Overall, I would rate the song at 9.75/10. I consider this one of the all-time best Beatles tracks, and my only complaint is its length. I always have wanted more, truly. I still think this is worth hearing.

You can listen to the song again (or for the first time) below:

-Austin Heath

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – The Beatles, Yesterday

  1. Here is the version from the “Love” album, which is worth hearing just for the transition from “Blackbird” to “Yesterday” (the first 30 seconds or so).

    [embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJznCHjwGXM[/embed]

    Like

Leave a Reply

