Artist Recommendation – Something Like Kites

something-like-kitesSomething Like Kites is an unsigned Alternative-Pop group from my dream of a country in love with ice hockey, coldness and being polite; I speak of Canada. The group has released three albums and have already played numerous shows, but they sure do deserve more listens. The wide appeal of some of their tracks is definitely most notable.

What I love about Something Like Kites is that I feel like I could show anyone their music. My favorite song that I would share would definitely be I Would, which I will leave below. Other favorites include In Your ArmsSmile, and Do You Remember. The lyricism is often superb, though many times feels as though the words are crushed into the music and move too quickly. That is why a couple of my favorites are slowed-down, including I Would.

The editing over the vocals can be a bit tedious, especially when the music unedited sounds better. However, the music is catchy and has a wide appeal. You could enjoy the sound of RnB, Rock, or even pee hitting a urinal and probably still enjoy Something Like Kites. Then again, that is the general role of Pop music.

Overall, I would rate the group’s sound at 8.5/10. I hope to hear more of the pure vocals of the lead singer, and lyrics slowed down a bit. Otherwise, most of the songs are catchy and fun to listen to. This group resembles Owl City without EDM. You can check out the songs I like below, along with the group’s official YouTube channel here.

-Austin Heath

UPDATE: I found out that Something Like Kite’s new album just released a couple of days ago, so I believe this is their fourth album. Therefore I was wrong when I said “three albums” above.

Leave a Reply

