Favorites Friday – Ellie Goulding, High For This (Cover)

I get it, it is Saturday (Sunday for some of you), but we all forget things and this entire week I feel like I have been a day behind for whatever reason. So let’s just pretend today is Friday (or very early Saturday depending on where you live) so I feel less pathetic. So hooray, it’s Friday! What are your plans for this lovely weekend? Spoiler Alert: Depending on where you live, it might snow.

Ellie Goulding’s cover of The Weeknd’s High For This is the subject of this installment of Favorites Friday. Most of the time, if The Weeknd is involved, I will give it a listen. I loved the original High For This, but something about Goulding’s voice on it made it even more likable. Together, I feel like these two would have made an incredible duet, but to each their own. I just want what I can never have.

So the real question of this post is this: Who dun-done it better? To be honest, it depends on your musical preference. Ellie Goulding’s version is much different from The Weeknd’s. In the end, despite my preference for RnB, I can almost definitively say that Ellie Goulding’s rendition is the better of the two. It is simply more entertaining and relies on both vocals and the complex beat.

That being said, I know a number of listeners who do not find Ellie Goulding’s voice appealing. Her sound is unique and stands out against other artists, and while I can go about saying I prefer British Pop over American, Ellie Goulding’s voice can over-do it for me at times. She is on point on this song though, and it is truly only dependent on whether or not you like her voice that proves if you will enjoy this song.

So overall, I would give the cover a 9.75/10. One of the best covers out there, a great change-up to the song and still an amazing piece. It’s a bit old but definitely worth sharing. Go ahead and check it out if you have not already below, as it is still one of my favorites over a year later:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

