Music Recommendation – Single – Mr. Probz ft. Chris Brown and T.I., Waves (Remix)

Of all of the popular songs on Billboard’s Hot 100, Waves has been my favorite and stayed in that spot for the last several months. There are plenty of fine songs that have popularity, otherwise they would not be selling well (Well, except for Anaconda. I don’t know how that is still there). Waves however appeals to my music tastes the most out of any song.

Naturally, adding two artists I like to an already excellent song can make it even better. Or it can make it worse. Or, there is a third option that is rarely considered: It could still be good, but remain pointless to not listen to the original. I feel as though this remix does that.

The remix is solid overall, especially Chris Brown’s added vocals. T.I.’s rap verse is decent but misplaced, as his is not really the best track to put Hip-Hop into. Chris Brown sounds better than he has in a while, but it is not anything different from what we heard by Mr. Probz.

The song is great and I recommend a listen, but in the end I believe I like the original Waves better. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it; or if you try to fix it, set out to make it better. Even a change in the lyrics by Brown may have made the song better. Overall, I would rate the song at 8.75/10. I love the original Waves, so obviously if you have yet to hear that I would recommend a listen to that first.

So what do we think of the remix? Is it better or worse? Or do you agree that it brings practically the same amount of enjoyment as the original? Let me know what you think and check out the newly-released remix below:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

