Music Recommendation – Single – Dilated Peoples ft. Aloe Blacc, Show Me The Way

I felt like I had to give this song a listen when I saw an Aloe Blacc feature. When was the last time you saw an Aloe Blacc feature (without counting Wake Me Up)? I had yet to hear Dilated Peoples as well, so this song had a little bit of pressure to perform. So does it do the trick?

I was impressed by Show Me The Way, which features both a catchy Soul-type hook and deep Hip-Hop verses. This song looks like it is the most popular track on the Directors Of Photography album that Dilated Peoples just released, with good reason. The flow on the first verse felt a bit off, but improves by the bridge and finale verse.

Aloe Blacc’s voice is very muffled, which is disappointing. When you have Aloe Blacc on the hook, you might want to emphasize it on his voice and not the beat. Just my own (un)professional opinion, but regardless the song pulls it off well. It appears that this song has been given some praise from Hip-Hop listeners as well, and feels less like mainstream rap and more like true Hip-Hop in its sound.

Overall, I would rate the song at 9.25/10. A few of the lines are a little too stereo-typically rap while others are creative and contemplative. I wish I could hear more of that, but whatcha gonna do? Give the song a listen below:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

