Music Recommendation – Single – CHVRCHES, Get Away

CHVRCHES is back, putting a song on the soundtrack for the upcoming film Drive. CHVRCHES fans, including myself, have been on the edge of their seats waiting for CHVRCHES to even vaguely whistle a new tune. It is unknown where this song will land in CHVRCHES discography, but it is very worth talking about.

I was kind of skeptical about the song when it began, as the beat almost sounds like “loo, ray-ray” over and over again. The vocals also sounded way too edited in the beginning. Overall I was pretty disappointed until the chorus at about a minute. I took a breath of relief as I remembered what the real CHVRCHES sounded like. After that the obnoxious beat and synth don’t really bother me, and in the second stanza both aspects seem to calm down a bit.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the mixing capabilities of this group. Their mixing is as professional as a cement truck, but I was just taken a bit off-guard by the first minute. That is why I recommend listening to the song throughout to enjoy it fully.

Overall, I would give the song a 8.75/10. I think I’ve already said enough, so go ahead and give it a listen below:

-Austin Heath

2 thoughts on “Music Recommendation – Single – CHVRCHES, Get Away

Leave a Reply

