Favorites Friday – Brandy, Right Here (Departed)

I have been criticized by assh – I mean, perfectly opinionated people, that my articles are basically a glorified description saying “This song is awesome except it’s not” and using 100 more words than I need to. I shall attempt to do so in this next installment of Favorites Friday, except I will leave out the “not awesome” part.

My favorites posts will be very biased, but in the end I will rate them neutrally. Brandy’s hit Right Here (Departed) is one of those songs that I discovered after it was a big hit, making me a reverse-hipster. Regardless, the Writing Camp’s work on the song goes along with the “angelic protection” that they hit big on with Beyonce’s Halo. In the end, I always found this song more inspirational and less couple love-based than Beyonce’s 2008 hit.

Right Here (Departed) is just one of those songs that I cannot get myself to say anything bad about. In the end, my only slight complaint is that Brandy’s voice is just a bit too edited and synthesized on the hook and bridge despite her having true singing talent. I consider Brandy an RnB Queen at this point, which was evident in her BET reunion the other day (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, Google will be your Right Here (Departed) to find it).

Well, there I did it again, I could have just summarized this song as “awesome” or “good” or in this song’s case, “excellent.” But I have a lot of good to say for a song that has always given me newfound inspiration whenever I hear it. So in the end, I will rate it at a 9.75/10. Oh so close to a 10, but I have always been disappointed in the lack of love for Brandy’s pure voice in parts of the track.

Regardless, if you are in need of some life through music, give the song a listen. And obviously if you have yet to hear Brandy’s biggest hit (for great reason), listen/watch below:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

