Music Recommendation – Single – Monica and Brandy, It All Belongs To Me

I remember when this song came out in 2011 and it was my jam. Seriously, I listened to this everyday for months. Well after hearing it again recently I’m hooked. This break-up track is one of my favorite songs again, and I’ll tell you why.

I have always loved the sound of Brandy’s voice, and this song only showcases it better. Monica also sounds pretty incredible, but the both of them together make such an amazing RnB sound that I consider this a legendary collaboration. While the beat is subtle, it adds to the RnB effect that these queens bring.

In the end, I really love Brandy in this song, and while Monica sounds great too, it feels as though they are trying to dominate each other by the end of the song. The vocals could just use some better coordination is all, but that is mainly only after the first two minutes.

Even though it seems a bit competitive, I love the sound of their singing almost against each other at times, as they both have elegant voices. Brandy on the bridge is probably my favorite part though, but both really bring an incredible part to the track. For example, while I like Brandy’s parts better, I don’t think the song would be the same without Monica, and vice-versa.

Overall, I would rate the song at 9.75/10. I have an extreme fondness for this track and it lands in my all-time favorites. I seriously recommend a listen if you have not already heard it. I apologize for sharing a rather well-known song, but it does deserve some extra spotlight:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

