Music Recommendation – Single – The Game ft. Kendrick Lamar, The City

This one dates back a couple of years now and even has quite a lot of views, but I want to use this opportunity for a couple of reasons. First, there should be some real appreciation given to Kendrick Lamar. This was the first real song where we got an idea of his potential.

Of course after Game named his top five rappers all-time, it gave me the idea to come up with my own. After hearing this song over two years ago, I think it is safe to say I will stick with my list. But first let’s talk about the song.

The City is definitely not home to some of Game’s best lines, but absolutely that for Kendrick. General topic of the track is city gang wars in Los Angeles, but the beat gives the song a perfect ominous feel. I have always loved The City’s sound.

Overall, I have to give this a 8.5/10. It is very hard to rate this when Game is so disappointing but Kendrick Lamar kills the hook and his verse. However I have to rate it neutrally, though Game’s parts are not exceptionally disappointing. Definitely listen below:

And now my top 5:

  1. Nas (because duh)
  2. Wu-Tang Clan (Can they count as one? If not than basically RZA and Raekwon)
  3. Tech N9ne (Not on most lists but this man has quite the verses and stories to tell)
  4. Eminem (Per Tech N9ne but more mainstream)
  5. Kendrick Lamar (Best flow of any rapper currently, just barely beats out Big Boi and Andre 3000)

Call it what you want, but that’s my list and it has been that way for the past two years. I know it’s not everyone’s favorite (trust me, Biggie, Pac and Hov are close behind them, still in my Top 10) but those are my personal top 5 best. Sorry Game, you didn’t make my list.

-Austin Heath

One thought on “Music Recommendation – Single – The Game ft. Kendrick Lamar, The City

Leave a Reply

