Music Recommendation – Single – DJ Mustard ft. Tinashe, Checks In (Extended Version)

So Check In was bothering me because the beat was way too familiar, but I couldn’t place from what track. Then it hit me, and in fact I already wrote about it in my review of Eric Bellinger ft. The Game: Awkward. Last time I checked these were not produced by the same person, but seems like it hasn’t caused any trouble so far. However, if it does let me just say that I noticed first.

Onto the song. It’s damn good. I’m a sucker for Tinashe though (see all my tweets about/at her) and I also tend to lean towards songs produced by DJ Mustard (then again, who doesn’t?). This song was originally an interlude on Mustard’s album 10 Summers, but Tinashe gifted us with the extended studio recording.

The song is excellent and features one of my favorite beats (which I praised in my Awkward review). I love Tinashe’s sound on the track as well. Hard to get the message from this one though, sounds like she’s upset about a guy choosing another girl over her I believe. Regardless, I still love the song.

Overall, I give it a 9.5/10. I seriously recommend a listen, but I will not guarantee that it will be a hit to every listener. Edited vocals and sound can ruin small parts of the song and the hook leaves a little to be desired, but in the end the song is near-perfect. Listen below:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

