Music Recommendation – Single – Ne-Yo ft. Trey Songz and T-Pain, The Way You Move

Yes, I know this one has been heard by plenty, and is also a little old (dating back to the end of 2011). But let me just say that most of those 18,000,000 views are probably because of me. I freaking love this song, almost 3 years later. I have trouble picking my all-time favorite songs, but I can tell you if this isn’t #1 it is in the top 3. It helped open me up into loving Ne-Yo and Trey Songz, and eventually T-Pain as well.

I will admit that the song is a little sexual and not about much else, and I will also admit that it is a little slow. But my God these three make an incredible song together. I don’t know why we haven’t seen this collaboration again since then, but it was amazing. The message is clear in the lyrics but it also shows the attachment that men can get to women who perform for them after seeing them a number of times. I don’t find the song as abrasive and brainless as most sexualized songs, as this one has a bit of meaning to it’s words.

Ne-Yo’s voice sounds calm but troubled, almost as if he has to be an actor through the song. He sings smoothly and provides an excellent hook. Trey Songz sounds the best of all, his voice reaches immense heights and, not surprisingly, his verse sounds very authentic.

Meanwhile, T-Pain sounds a little more autotuned than usual (yes, it is possible). That would be my only complaint for the song. I hear others complain that Usher should have replaced T-Pain here, but I liked the change of pace and sound that he gave the tune.

Again, this is one of my all-time favorites, so my opinion might be a little biased. However, overall I give this song a 9.25/10. T-Pain is a little disappointing, but I promise it is not worth considering the song ruined. I know plenty have heard it, but might as well enjoy it again anyways:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

