Music Recommendation – Single – Kelly Rowland ft. Mario, R. Kelly, Jeremih, The Dream, Busta Rhymes & Trey Songz

Motivation was one of my favorite songs for a while when it was popular in 2011, but the legendary remix featuring a handful or RnB greats found me over a year after I heard the original for the first time. I’m sure you can guess which version I prefer.

While I’m sure plenty of people have heard this one, I recently researched it to give it a final listen for a long time as I hadn’t cared much about the song for a while. It appealed to me so much yet again that I had to add it to my favorites playlist (my inspiration for many of these posts), and I felt it would be a good idea to write about it.

Each verse carries the same perspective of the guy in the original Motivation song. Kelly Rowland has little part in this remix, but her vocals help the other artists shine plenty. I almost feel bad for wanting to cut her out of her own song. More or less each RnB favorite brings their own version of sex with Kelly Rowland in the song, but Mario starts the song off so strong it almost puts your expectations for the rest too high. R. Kelly, Jeremih, and The Dream bring excellent vocals to their versions while Busta Rhymes’ verse is rapped in the usual Busta Rhymes manner.

At the end, Trey Songz caps the remixes edited together with a sound that comes close behind Mario’s entrance. He is the biggest reason to wait for the end of the song if you don’t like the start. His voice with Kelly’s makes this part sound more like a duet than the others.

My overall rating for this song is 9.5/10. Some of the vocals feel forced onto the original track and edited when they don’t need to be, but the sound is incredibly RnB and features one of the greatest collaboration in modern RnB. Give it a listen below and be prepared for a little bit of explicit content:

-Austin Heath

Leave a Reply

